Close

Book: How to Make Sense of any Mess – Abby Covert

In this great book you’ll find everything you’ve ever wanted to know about information architecture (IA).

Abby Covert kicks off with a perfect definition of information architecture: “Information architecture is a set of concepts that can help anyone making anything to make sense of messes caused by misinformation, disinformation, not enough, or too much information.

Clear, concise, accessible. Covert gives other definitions: Information, data, content, … But that is far from the most important thing she has to say, nor is it the only reason you should read her book.

Information architecture: method and best practices

Covert advocates seven steps in her A-to-Z approach of an IA project:

  1. Identify the mess
  2. State your intent
  3. Face reality
  4. Choose a direction
  5. Measure the distance
  6. Play with structure
  7. Prepare to adjust

Covert dedicates a chapter to each step but does not present a rigid method. Rather, she prefers to present you with tools, best practices, experiences, frustrations and good advice. And rightly so, because every project is so fundamentally different that a rigid, methodical approach would be useless. Instead, she offers you the freedom to select the tools that best fit your situation.

In any case, Covert clearly knows what she is writing about. She puts a well-deserved emphasis on the human aspect of any information architecture project. After all, emotions aspect will always play a major role, even if it does not always seem that way at the beginning

Not only practical, but…

Covert’s style is pleasant, humorous and sometimes unconventional. She’s straight to the point and does not hesitate to rein you in if she thinks that you might wander off. Most importantly, she asks you not to shy away from inconvenient truths.

What if the light reveals the room is actually empty? The only way to know what happens next is to do it.

(Wouter Verkerken)

Fermer

Livre : How to Make Sense of any Mess – Abby Covert

Dans ce livre fantastique, vous apprendrez tout ce que vous avez toujours voulu savoir sur l’architecture de l’information (IA).

Abby Covert commence son livre en donnant une définition parfaite de l’architecture de l’information : « L’architecture de l’information est un ensemble de concepts qui permet à tout le monde de donner un sens au chaos qui résulte de malentendus, de désinformations et d’une pénurie ou un déluge d’information. »

Court, concis, accessible. Covert définit aussi d’autres concepts tels que l’information, les données et le contenu, mais ce n’est ni le principal argument de Covert ni la raison principale pourquoi il faut lire ce livre.

L’architecture de l’information : méthode et meilleures pratiques

Covert décrit dans sept étapes comment il faut aborder un projet d’architecture de l’information de A à Z :

  1. Identifiez le chaos
  2. Déclarez ce que vous voulez atteindre
  3. Acceptez la réalité
  4. Choisissez la direction à suivre
  5. Mesurez la distance
  6. Soyez flexible avec la structure
  7. Soyez prêt à changer la trajectoire

Le livre consacre un chapitre à chaque étape. Les chapitres ne présentent pas de méthodes, mais des outils, de meilleures pratiques, des expériences, des frustrations qui peuvent survenir et de bons conseils. Cela coule de source, étant donné que le contexte de chaque projet est si différent qu’il est impossible d’offrir une seule méthode détaillée qui fonctionne bien en toutes circonstances. Au lieu de cela, le livre vous offre une liste d’éléments utiles, et c’est à vous de choisir les outils qui conviennent les mieux à votre situation.

En tout cas, Covert connaît son affaire. C’est à juste titre qu’elle met l’accent sur l’aspect humaine, qui est le facteur clé dans n’importe quel projet d’architecture de l’information. En d’autres mots : les émotions jouent un rôle important, même si cela ne semble pas le cas au début.

Un livre non seulement pratique, mais aussi …

Le style de rédaction qu’utilise Covert pour communiquer son message est non seulement agréable à lire, mais aussi humoristique, parfois peu conventionnel – et surtout présenté de façon directe. Elle n’hésite pas à vous taper sur les doigts à l’avance si elle croît que vous êtes sur le point de faire une erreur. Elle vous demande aussi à ne pas éviter des vérités dérangeantes.

Que faire si, en allumant la lumière, on découvre que la salle est en fait vide ? La seule façon de connaître la vérité, c’est d’appuyer sur l’interrupteur.

(Wouter Verkerken)