Close

Exchange vzw:“Professional documentation is a must.”

Certain questions pop up very frequently in organizations and companies: how can our current documentation evolve along with our ideas? How can we optimize and professionalize our documentation? How can we gather our existing information and remodel it to a well-organized and efficient unity?

As Exchange vzw turned more professional, they felt the indispensable need to search for suitable solutions to these questions. Flow offered the solution.

Exchange is an association without lucrative purpose that wants to create more prosperity and welfare in development countries through sustainable and inclusive growth. This organization focuses on private sector input given the fact that local entrepreneurs stimulate local growth and employment. To take the next step in their development, they are in need of adequate expertise, which isn’t easy to find.

Exchange offers the private partners -and organizations linked to them- the opportunity to rely on an extended team of voluntary -and for the private sector practically free of charge, top experts. As a result, local economies are boosted and new opportunities arise for those in search of a job.

Raising the bar

Recently it became a key issue for Exchange to have uniform and structured documentation. “We want to generate growth but -most importantly- work in a more structured, professional manner”, Eline Ghysels, project coordinator at Exchange, states. “Since we work with a large number of volunteers, we create new function and task descriptions to enthuse interested people and, above all, to let them partake in a more professional way.” Yet we soon noticed that it wasn’t easy for our volunteers and internal employees to keep track of the entangled pieces of documentation. That way it became difficult to correctly apply our internal regulations.”

“The documentation of Exchange rarely contained a fixed structure, uniform layout or recurring information. We used documentation that sometimes was a couple of years old. We noticed that a lot of information overlapped between different documents, or that, on the contrary, not enough information was being stored. In short: our documentation did not tally with the image that we wanted to emit. Starting from this objective, we got in touch with Flow” Ghysels recounts.

The Flow-method

Flow proceeded by putting to practice the approved method of thorough screening and analysis, to continue with extended commentaries on the flaws and strongholds of the received documents. Next, we presented a roadmap to (re)structure, model and compact Exchange’s knowledge.

“It’s a real eye-opener to see how an external, professional vision has helped advance our documentation.”

Based on this screening, a uniform template was put to use. In this brand new template, we implemented several different Word-styles that were exclusively created for Exchange. Moreover, by integrating Exchange’s house style, the documentation got straight away its very own image.

A successful marriage

After working on the exterior, Flow took to task the interior of the renewed documentation. By applying the principles of structured writing, we could effectively articulate the content of Exchange’s documentation. As a consequence, the documentation of Exchange turned into a clear, easy to read and more coherent whole. In the new documentation, you are indeed able to see the forest for the trees.

In a nutshell: a successful marriage? “It’s a real eye-opener to see how an external, professional vision has helped advance our documentation”, Ghysels mentions pleased. “Thanks to Flow stepping in, we cannot only improve our documentation for external partners, yet also for our co-workers.”

Fermer

Exchange vzw : « Une documentation doit avoir l’air professionnel. »

Voilà des questions souvent posées par des organisations : comment pouvons-nous faire évoluer notre documentation actuelle et la rendre plus professionnelle ? Comment pouvons-nous réunir nos informations existantes dans un ensemble à la fois bien ordonné et efficace ? Exchange vzw, qui était en train de se professionnaliser, lui-aussi a reconnu la nécessité de répondre à ces questions. Flow a donné la solution.

Exchange est un organisme à but non lucratif («Vereniging zonder winstoogmerk» ou «vzw » en néerlandais) qui vise à créer la prospérité et le bien-être dans des pays en voie de développement par le biais de croissance durable et inclusive. L’organisation se concentre sur le secteur privé, vu que ce sont les entrepreneurs qui sont le moteur de la croissance locale et qui offrent des emplois. Ces entrepreneurs ont besoin du savoir-faire pour se développer. Mais le savoir-faire ne pousse pas sur les arbres.

Exchange donne le secteur privé–et les organisations associées–l’opportunité de faire appel à un grand group d’experts de haut niveau qui travaillent volontairement, à peu de frais pour ce secteur. Les conséquences ? Les économies locales obtiennent un coup de pouce, créant ainsi des emplois pour les demandeurs d’emploi.

Viser plus haut

Récemment, Exchange a reconnu la nécessité d’avoir une documentation uniforme et structurée. « Nous voulons faire grandir l’entreprise, mais surtout nous professionnaliser », dit Eline Ghysels, un coordinateur de projet travaillant chez Exchange. « Vu que nous travaillons avec nombre de volontaires, nous créons régulièrement de nouvelles descriptions de tâche et de fonction pour motiver les intéressés et surtout pour les faire participer de façon professionnelle. Mais nous avons vite remarqué que c’était difficile pour eux ainsi que pour nos collègues internes de garder une vue d’ensemble de notre documentation chaotique. Cela a évidemment rendu plus difficile l’application correcte de notre réglementation interne.

La documentation d’Exchange ne contenait que rarement une structure fixe, une mise en page uniforme et des informations réutilisées. « Il arrivait qu’on utilise des documents qui dataient de quelques ans. Nous avons observé qu’il y avait beaucoup d’informations qui se répétaient dans différents documents, ou que, au contraire, il nous manquait d’information. En conclusion : notre documentation ne répondait à l’image qu’on voulait présenter. Pour résoudre cela, nous avons contacté Flow », raconte Ghysels.

La méthode Flow

Flow s’est mis au travail en utilisant leur méthode éprouvée : un dépistage et un analyse, après quoi nous avons commenté les points faibles mais aussi les points forts des documents reçus. Ensuite, nous avons proposé une méthode pour (ré)structurer, modéliser et uniformiser les connaissances d’Exchange.

« Cela nous a ouvert les yeux : il était étonnant de voir comment une vision professionnelle et externe a pu avancer notre documentation »

Sur la base de ce dépistage, nous avons construit un modèle uniforme. Ce modèle flambant neuf a incorporé différents styles de Word, créés exclusivement pour Echange. En utilisant le style maison d’Exchange dans le modèle, la documentation a d’emblée reçu une image propre à Exchange vzw.

Un mariage réussi

Après l’extérieur, Flow s’est occupé de l’intérieur de la nouvelle documentation : le contenu. Les principes de la rédaction structurée nous ont aidé à formuler de façon efficace la documentation d’Exchange, rendant cette dernière plus claire et lisible. Nous voilà la nouvelle documentation, où on ne se perd plus dans les détails.

En conclusion : un mariage réussi ? « Cela nous a ouvert les yeux : il était étonnant de voir comment une vision professionnelle et externe a pu avancer notre documentation », dit Ghysels avec l’air satisfait. « Flow a amélioré notre documentation non seulement pour des parties externes, mais aussi pour nos collègues. »